Large business have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Increasing demand for fast fashion, modernised technology and even the basic necessities is a positive attraction for large industries. Undoubtedly, they are using various marketing strategies to promote their products targeting specific audiences for specific products. Furthermore, in this process of making huge profits, they are causing major problems for local traders such as a lack of employment and income. Nevertheless, these can be overcome by promoting the quality of local products as well as governments providing subsidies for local sellers. To begin with, one of the major problems these big businesses can cause is the complete closure of smaller local stores. For example, local grocers make a bare minimum of profit and just enough to feed their families. Moreover, they don't have nearly as much as bigger industries to compete with their advertising strategies and mainly focus to target their local community. Thus, if they attract fewer customers, they make less profit ultimately, causing a loss in the long run and leading to permanent closure and lack of employment. Secondly, giant stores focus on quantity rather than quantity. Even though the price of an item may be attractive,usually, the customer compromises the quality of that item. For instance, local grocers and butchers may be selling organic produce, whereas bigger supermarkets target lower prices with inorganic produce. Consequently, leading to poor quality items. On the other hand, these stated problems do come with solutions. Firstly, the government can step up and help promote smaller businesses by either providing a bursary to enhance their advertising. To cite an example, a grant can be offered for shops in local communities to help promote their business through tv, social media and billboard advertising. As a result, it will attract more customers and help these businesses to thrive. Secondly, advertisements of bigger companies should be monitored and restricted and checked from time to time to ensure that what they are selling is actually true and that consumers are not being fooled into spending their hard-earned money. To illustrate, many social media adverts show items starting from as little as 99p, however, this may only apply to 1 item and the rest may be overcharged. Hence, strict rules and regulations should be put in place to allow fair play and trade between stores. To conclude, with every problem comes a solution. Likewise, to help curb the closure and unemployment of local shops and to ensure high-quality standards, the government should focus on targetting giant businesses in addition to permitting grants to those in need.