Some people believe more actions can be taken to prevent crime, while others think that little can be done. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Crime rates vary in different parts of the world and the majority of states are adversely affected by it. Some have the view that the possibility to bring down the crime rate is limited. however, I firmly believe that with the right countermeasures and strict laws, the rate of violence can be drastically reduced. This essay will discuss both points of view and my opinion on the same. On one hand, in a highly populated country, it is difficult to implement stringent laws and hefty fines as it would lack support from its people and democracy. Moreover, the government would find it impractical to hire a large number of police officials in ratio to the population. For instance, in countries like India, the population has grown so high that it is nearly impossible to control and prevent daily criminal activities. Furthermore, laws and fines get surpassed due to influences from corrupt politicians. On the other hand, crime rates can be controlled by imposing strong laws and heavy fines on criminals. In addition to that, it will instil a sense of fear among the public and deter people from committing any atrocities. One of the best examples can be seen in countries like the UAE, which is regarded as one of the safest countries in the world with an extremely low crime rate, and the reason for this is the strong laws, heavy compensation, and less corruption that prevails in the nation. To summarize, it is difficult to control the atrocities in a state due to its massive population, limited police officials, and corrupt politicians. Despite this, I firmly believe that criminal offences can be significantly reduced by imposing severe punishments and hefty fines for lawbreakers in society.