To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

Due to the rise of population, people need more food to eat. However, a country should not utilise insects based food as a food source because eating them has a negative effects on earth. Using edible insects as a food is believed one of the best ways to meet the growing need for food. In fact, there are some benefits if we use them as a food. The reason is that people can capture a lot of insects easily compared to other animals, such as cows and pigs. For instance, it takes long time for cows to grow up and they need large space to be adults. This avoids people from raising a lot of cows. On the other hand, time and space do not have a relationship with raising insects. However, eating insects based products affects the earth negatively. This is because if a lot of insects are used as a food, it has a possibility to break a food chain. This world is stable because there are predators and food. In fact, insects are the food source for other animals. For instance, Frogg frogg can live on eating flies. Even if people eat most of flies in the world, frogg Frogg are not able to survive due to the food loss. Them, the next predator which eat frogg will have a negative effects. As it shows, eating too much insects based products can lead to losing our food, such as beef and chicken. To sum up, there are some benefits of using insects as a food. In contrast, eating insects affects the food chain negatively. Thus, a coutry does not have to regard edible insects as a food source.