In modern age, some people think it is unnecessary to teach children the skill of handwriting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people consider that it is not essential to master the skill to write by hand in this era. I strongly disagree with this opinion. Although, a lot of electronic devices have replaced the need to write things by hand, at the time of a technological breakdown immediate solution is to take notes by hand. Furthermore, this skill is an essential growth factor for both child's brain and fingers. Sophisticated modern technology is slowly replacing most human skills. People have started to rely on machines more and more and using them as storage devices for important documents has become a habit. But this practice can cause serious consequences in the event of machine breakdown. If people know how to write then it can save the situation till repairs are done. For example, the secretary of a certain company used to take meeting notes using her computer. One day, in the middle of a very important meeting this device suddenly stopped working. However, the secretary was able to complete her work by writing down everything. Many paediatricians agree that it is important for a child to master first, the sill of handwriting rather than the skill of typing. When writing by hand, the child is introduced to different patterns and directions. Therefore, it is considered an essential physical exercise for fingers to grow properly and as a simulation for the brain to develop. For instance, a study done by a particular research group shows that toddlers who were first taught how to write by hand displayed skills in creative handcrafts rather than toddlers who were first introduced to typing. In conclusion, I strongly believe that people should master the ability to write letters by hand as that is a skill which is unique to human beings. Hence, it should not be ignored due to the advancement of technology. People should not completely rely on machines to do all the writing without mastering the skill themselves as it is obvious that one day or another machine may fail to fulfil its desired task.