Some people say that television should be mainly used to educate and inform viewers, while others believe it should be used for entertainment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that television should be restricted to broadcasting factual based content, whereas some are saying it should be only used for entertainment. This essay will state that, although the use of television for informative purposes can seem as necessary, I strongly believe that television is an item which is associated with entertainment. Television is an important information channel with the ability to reach millions of people, instantly. Therefore, broadcasting educational or informative programs, like a documentary can be beneficial for the government if they want to increase awareness about an issue in the general public, such as global warming, economic crises or updated Covid-19 guidelines. Personally, I believe that TV plays an essential role in obtaining knowledge about the most current issues in my community because I do not read newspapers. On the other hand, citizens, particularly young people do not need a constant reminder of all the horrible things happening in the world, as television news channels have the tendency to over-report incidents, for,example the climate crises and war. Recently, it was reported in Sweden that children as young as in 4th grade are being diagnosed with anxiety, as a result of too much pressure about climate change, that is the consequence of them being exposed to this from the news on tv, parents, friends and schools. Undoubtedly I support the side that states television should mainly be used for entertainment. In conclusion, television can be used moderately, to inform and educate the population when it comes to urgent issues. But in my opinion people, especially children should be allowed to use television to “escape” reality in their leisure time.