People who cause their own illnesses through unhealthy lifestyles and poor diets should have to pay more for health care. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many diseases in modern society are caused by the unresponsible behaviour of humans themselves, therefore, those who choose to live in an unhealthy way should be held responsible for their decisions. This essay agrees with this view and two main reasons in support will be outlined: the more the diseases are, the bigger the spendings for healthcare are; an increasement in taxes for health will have a detrimental effect on some risk factors, such as cigarettes, alcohol, junk food, and etc. It is a well-known fact that more investment in hospital care is required when the number of diseases rises. In particular, the majority of today’s illnesses are caused by the inappropriate lifestyle of the patients. On top of that, we should take into consideration that public finance is taken from every single worker’s pocket, therefore, people who are trying to maintain a healthy standard of living are forced to pay for the treatment of human beings who do the opposite, which at a certain point is causing them to get sick and look for medical assistance. For example, billions of dollars are invested annually in the cure of ischemic heart disease, in particular, myocardial infarction, and the main reason for its development is high cholesterol levels, caused by overconsumption of junk food. If the governments approve the individual approach in the formation of taxes for healthcare, it will have a destructive effect on spending on risk factors, such as cigarettes, alcohol, fast food, etc., which will have a beneficial impact on humans health in the end. As risk patients are going to be forced to pay more for their medical services, it would make them reconsider if they are to waste a lot of money on their “essential” goods. Therefore, in my opinion, differential distribution of taxes for health insurance, according to each individual lifestyle, will lead to a significant decline in the cases of cardiovascular diseases, which are considered the “white plague” of modern medicine. In conclusion, all people who are causing harm to their selves should be charged more for their treatments. Consequently, to my way of thinking, one accurate way to motivate them to change their bad habits is to include more fines for them to pay.