The number of children that read books for fun has dropped dramatically in recent years. What are the reason for this? How can we encourage children to read more?

It has been universally acknowledged that children have stopped reading books for pleasure in the current scenario. Although the reason for this is the advancement in technology, there are also numerous solutions to curb this grave concern. Commencing with the causes which are responsible for its growth. First and foremost, cutting-edge technology is the key factor influencing young ones towards mobiles and laptops. To elucidate further, children are now more interested in watching animated movies and playing exciting games due to unlimited access to the internet. Because of these substitutes, the habit of reading has vanished. For example, 66.70% of teens in the USA spend leisure time either watching series on Netflix or playing video games and think that novels are too boring and they do not have time to read them. Hence, interest in reading is rapidly decreasing. In order to solve these issues, some measures can be taken. Firstly, parents play a crucial role in children's lives. If parents will give small gifts whenever they finish a book, they will be keener towards reading. Moreover, Reading clubs has been a contributing factor in attracting children towards books. Therefore, parents should indulge them in mini clubs which will make them more attentive. For instance, a recent study has shown that children who are in groups are more likely to read to entertain themselves rather than those children who are not a part of book clubs. In conclusion, unquestionably, the above-mentioned problems can be solved by the given solutions. If proposed alternative solutions were to be implemented, this problem could be reduced to some extent, even if not totally eliminated. Parents should come forward to mitigate this complex issue.