In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case?

These days, it is believed, that in a number of countries it is better to own a home, rather than lease one, as it might be beneficial for the resident. Owning a house in certain locations can be considered a lifetime investment with a guaranteed return, rather than spending a huge sum of money on paying rent. Buying a residence or renting one can sure be a confusing question for the public. However, what society fears, are the high prices of real estate and do not dare to buy houses on loans as they think they will be paying the EMIs for a long period of 15-20 or so. but what most folks do not understand is buying a housing property is a form of investment as well. Most people lease houses for years at a stretch and when that ends they are once again out for residence hunting. However, this can be avoided by owning a house. Also, the tariffs can be higher than the monthly instalments. Rents these days are getting over the top. In cities like Mumbai and, Hyderabad people pay a tariff of almost 100 thousand a month for 1 or 2 BHK apartments in the heart of the city. But what most people do not understand is, instead of paying almost 100 thousand rupees a month they can buy their own residence in the heart of the city on loans provided by the banks with monthly instalments of nearly 30 thousand rupees which are almost 1/3 of the rent they pay. The banks too provide a tenure of 20 years in housing loans. In addition, owning a house means having a home, and having their own personal space. Therefore, in my opinion, one should definitely buy a residential property rather than paying rent. As it is a lifelong investment and also can have an emotional value attached to it.