It is now very easy to get all the news we need online, so there is no longer any need to pay for newspapers or expensive magazines. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In today's digital world, the news is easily accessible free of charge using online platforms, therefore, people do not feel the requirement to read newspapers or costly magazines. I believe this is a completely positive trend because this reduces the usage of paper, and everyone can afford it regardless of their socio-economic status. One of the most significant advantages of getting news from sites is the reduction in paper usage, which alleviates the need for deforestation. Trees have been cut every day to fulfil the demands of industries for making and printing periodicals. As a consequence, this leads to the cutting down of trees in large areas, which results in soil degradation and climate change. The trend of online reduces these issues to some extent. For example, it is revealed that the introduction of news on various websites has decreased usage to 30%. Another benefit to consider is that all people can afford news, irrespective of economic background and location. Online reading provides affordability to everyone because they can watch or read news free of cost on numerous sites, such as YouTube or other renowned websites. Whether they are living in rural or small communities, they gain huge benefits from these social sites. For instance, in some rural areas in India, people are not able to purchase magazines every day due to financial instability, so they prefer to access them on their cell phones. To conclude, I believe that receiving all kinds of information online is a positive development. Firstly, it has significantly reduced the need to cut down trees for creating these paper articles, and secondly, these are affordable to everyone, whether they belong to wealthier or underprivileged societies.