Nowadays, children spend a lot of time on their smartphones. What are the reasons for this? What can parents do to reduce this problem?

Nowadays, children are spending an increasing amount of time on their smartphones. While there are several key reasons behind this, it can be addressed if parents take some effective measures. There are several reasons that are responsible for this problem. One primary reason is that, digital platforms provide instant gratification through algorithm-driven content. Applications like TikTok and YouTube Shorts deliver endless streams of entertaining videos tailored to individual preferences, creating compulsive viewing habits. Another factor is that they don't want to miss anything that happens on the internet, which makes them more addicted to smart devices. Furthermore, today's generations do not have enough facilities to do outside activities such as playing with their friends and doing some alternative.That causes them to focus more on online platforms for getting attached to their friends and having more entertainment. To tackle this issue, parents should create boundaries regarding the use of devices. For example, they can set daily screen time limits and restrict phone use during important times such as meals or before bed. Also, they should encourage their children to do sports, reading and some creative hobbies. Moreover, guardians have to make a bond with their child and spend some quality time with them to boost their creativity as well. These not only reduce their screen time but also promote physical and mental development. In conclusion, the excessive use of smartphones among children is mainly due to addiction and limited alternative activities. However, by setting rules, promoting healthier habits, parents can effectively reduce this problem and make a productive life for their children.