People sleeps less than before in many countries. Why do people sleep less? What effects does it have on individuals and on society?

it's true that most people nowadays are sleep deprived, and their lack of sleep is influenced by a variety of factors. Personally, losing shuteye may also cause a myriad of physical and mental issues. People now tend to have less sleeping time and this is due to many reasons. Firstly, the jobs market is becoming more competitive than before which may lead most members of society to work harder and longer. Namely, if the person works for an inordinate amount of time from the very beginning of the day until late in the evening which is, unfortunately, the common case currently, thus cutting in their sleep. Furthermore, more distractions are available, especially after technology advances. For example, a recent study showed that sleep pattern disturbances are caused by the elevation of technology consumption. the primary effects of not getting adequate sleeping time can be divided into two main aspects. Physically, being sleep deprived impedes the body to replenish and repair itself well. Consequently, expediates the onset of serious diseases like inflammation, diabetes and obesity. In terms of mental problems, getting less sleep has a devastating impact on our mental health. To illustrate, neuroscience proved that symptoms such as hormonal imbalances and irritable feelings are due to sleeping less than the consensus hours of shuteye which is an average of 8 hours a day. In conclusion, people are more sleep deprived than the previous generations due to longer working hours and too many distractions draining our mental peace and the effect is that many are physically tired and mentally suffering to the point of exhaustion.