Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think is a positive or negative development?

With the ongoing advancement of technology, smartphones have become an integral part of human lives; however, there has been an emerging issue, namely the overuse of these kinds of devices among children. There are two major causes behind this, and this tends to have more negative effects on them. The excessive use of smartphones by young individuals might stem from two main factors. One of which is because of a lack of parental supervision. To be more precise, children in many families have ample opportunity to have their eyes glued to the screen of the phone, in view of the fact that their parents are off for work, which renders the ability to control them. Another rationale behind this trend is the addictive content on smartphones. To illustrate, almost every smartphone in the market is installed with a multitude of applications, many of which are designed with captivating storylines and up-to-date characters and accessories. As a consequence, children are unable to resist the lure of these games, and in the worst scenario, they tend to neglect other responsibilities, such as studying. As far as I am concerned, this phenomenon would be incontrovertibly detrimental to the youth. The direct repercussion would be to their physical health. In fact, researchers have indicated that overusing smartphones could lead to several diseases, from short-sightedness to excruciating pain in the neck or back. In some severe circumstances, children might damage their bodies to the point of having to perform surgeries to fix them. Secondly, such children might refrain from socialising with other people, owing to their incomprehensive understanding of the outside world. Thus, they might further indulge themselves in smartphones, which might worsen the situation. To conclude, deficiency in parental control, along with the content of some phone applications is the main culprit of this trend, which would be undoubtedly prejudicial. To alleviate this issue, both families and schools are held responsible.