Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having fixed punishment?

There is an ongoing controversy that the efficient way of dealing with every wrongdoing would be setting a rigid disciplinary approach. This essay will elucidate on the demerits of the statement which are the unfairness it would put in the faces of the wrongdoers and injustice, however, the positive impacts could be that it will totally reduce the crime rates and improve the security of lives and properties. To begin with, the backbone of punishment is to correct man of his wrong acts, however, some of the acts could stand as a self-defence against an attack and also it could be the only way to sustain him. For example, a man who just lost his job and after several months of job-hunting yet to no avail, he will at this point try to rob within his vicinity rather than die of hunger. Peradventure, his case is brought to a book of death sentence, he feels bad for such punishment based on the minor misdeed of stealing from his neighbour in order to survive. Meanwhile, the possible way of reducing criminal activities in any given society is by putting strict disciplinary action. More so, this measurement will provide a better secure and conducive environment for citizens. For example, China uses more the death sentence for any misdeed and this rule has been laid over years. In fact, this is the first thing you get to hear as a visitor to China and I believe it has structured the behaviours of the Chinese. Additionally, it is well known that China is one of the most secure and conducive countries within the globe because they are governed by strict and rigid rules for any misconduct. In conclusion, most people think that criminals should be punished equally irrespective of the evil acts done as it improves security and mitigate criminal activities in an environment whereas others feel it is unjust.