In certain nations, parents have high academic expectations for their children, resulting in limited leisure time. What could be the potential benefits and drawbacks of this for the children and the society they are part of?

Some young people in certain countries are forced to sacrifice their leisure time because of high academic expectations from their parents. This essay will attempt to explain this phenomenon causing both the advantages and disadvantages for the kids and society. First of all, at one school, most children are encouraged to invest more time in studying by their parents ’ requirements. As a result, the standard of pupils’ performances grows entirely, although there are still a few students who fail exams. Moreover, their society will become more competitive and develop more than others. For example, Taiwanese talent is well-known worldwide, and it is attributed to kids striving for higher scores to prevent their parents from being shamed. On the other hand, it is stressful and exhausting for children to spend their free time achieving their parents ’ expectations. Subsequently, they suffer from some mental problems because they can relax in what they are interested in. Furthermore, mental health issues of students cost a lot of the budget of their government and affect the well-being policy in their society, according to the report released in 2023 by the Korean Psychological Agency, over 43% of teenagers who felt disappointed and lost their confidence because their parents were not sufficient with their academic performance. In brief, children and society would be harmed when parents ’ requirements are overloaded for kids. In conclusion, parents ' expectations for children at school not only stimulate students' performance but also influence society positively. However, if they are overwhelming, society and kids would be harmed.