With the improvements in today’s health care, society has to care for more and more elderly people. Do you feel that society will be able to cope with the increase in numbers of elderly people today and how can it be managed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the healthcare system has been made more robust in order to care for the increasing number of patients in nursing homes and hospitals. However, there are many more challenges to face for humankind, in the future as the general population is growing older and birth rates declining. This essay will argue that despite the fact that many individuals are now taking a healthcare -related education, the recruitment process of healthcare workers is not developing as fast as the demand. One of the modern societies' disadvantages is the exceptionally low birth rates combined with a wave of elderly. For instance, children born after the second world war are now in their 90s and 80s, which means that they will account for the majority part of the health service users in the country. Therefore, the nation has in the last few years been preparing for this generation, encouraging more young people to go into the health sector by offering better wages and intensive courses when needed. Consequently, there are today, 40% more nurses and healthcare assistants in nursing homes than it was 10 years ago in England. However, the need for healthcare assistants, nurses, midwives, and doctors is still insufficient in the real world. The main reason for the gap between demand and supply of staff is the government´s lack of willingness to increase wages, at times when people are experiencing rising costs of living. For example, doctors and nurses are being offered higher salaries and bonuses by cosmetic industries to perform beauty procedures such as botox and other beautifying surgeries. For that reason, I believe that authorities first of all need to give healthcare staff a pay rise in order to stop them from leaving the sector in complete crisis. In conclusion, the elderly wave is clearly here and our society is not financially prepared. In my opinion, the government should keep encouraging people into taking this kind of education, in addition to improving the pay rates.