Research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes when set free. What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem?

Studies have proved that a significant number of former convicts are likely to repeat offending after being released. While several causes are to blame, there are sufficient solutions that both governments and society would carry out to address the issue. To begin with, many criminals who have finished their punishment period in jails are hopelessly unable to immerse themselves in social life again. In prison, a hotchpot of criminals, they are not given a chance to retrain and learn new skills as a preparation for their future. Therefore, the intention of reoffending is strengthened. Young prisoners, for instance, who are exposed to interaction with serious offenders instead of being introduced to classes for quintessential capabilities are confronted with relentless hurdles to rehabilitate to the community. Another reason that would lead former convicts to re-offend would be the difficulty in finding sufficient employment after the sentence period. For example, Grab, the most influential service provider of deliveries and mobility, obstructs former offenders from registering for becoming drivers or shippers. Struggling with financial matters, it is easy for them to relapse into criminal behaviour, regardless of the consequences. Notwithstanding the above grounds, feasible solutions could be taken to solve the problem of repeat offenders. One way to tackle this is to ensure that convicts will be equipped with some useful skills during the detention period, which enables them to bring value and contribute to society later on. For example, vocational courses in highly-demanded fields such as plumbing or mechanic should be provided for prisoners so that they will successfully be employed after sentences. Another method governments would take is to subsidise organizations offering sufficient jobs for former convicts. By doing this, with a sense of being helpful and valuable, former offenders would be encouraged to reintegrate back into society. Finally, more supervision and checks would be implemented in the place where they return, which would hopefully deter them from reoffending. In conclusion, although several conditions would deflect offenders from leading a legal and helpful life after being released, there are various measures to sufficiently tackle the problem.