Museums and art galleries should concentrate on works that show history and culture of their own country rather than works of the other parts in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Museums and art galleries have played a significantly important role in preserving and conveying historical values. Whereas some people suggest that they should focus on domestic artworks, I side with those who suggest that exotic masterpieces should also be presented. On the one hand, it is argued that a local museum should be a place which especially honours the historical values of the land where it is located. Conspicuously containing archival stories of a nation, works of art show dwellers the periods of glory and decline that their predecessors experienced, which in turn instils and nurtures patriotism of the people as well as promotes a sense of their national pride. Aside from serving educational purposes, art displays also contribute to the preservation of indigenous culture and customs. For example, traditional crafts, costumes and ways of life of several minorities on the verge of cultural assimilation with the majorities are moderately obsolete in modern society; and yet they now can be saved behind glass. On the other hand, I support the idea of exposing local people to masterpieces that originated from foreign lands. Firstly, bringing along with them the mindsets as well as directly connecting to historical events of the land where they stemmed from, foreign artworks offer the locals a chance to broaden their horizon by revealing a new vision of the world from historical and cultural aspects. Secondly, the number of people paying a visit to museums and art galleries has gradually decreased thus adding exotic works would help attract more visitors to the places. Finally, by opening up an opportunity to enjoy and sense masterpieces made by worldwide artists like Van Gogh and Leonardo da Vinci, museums will greatly enrich local people ’s social life. In conclusion, it is my firm conviction that coupled with local exhibits, museums and art halls should also place an equal emphasis on foreign pieces of art.