In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Since their inception, urban areas have been capable of offering more opportunities for working and living, attracting people to migrate in. Urbanization shows more rapid revolution in this century, meanwhile, rural area populations have decreased over the years. In my opinion, it is a necessity for social development with many beneficial and detrimental aspects. On the one hand, more people moving to cities could revitalize the economy, offering more labour force in various fields in urban areas. It is evidenced that many farmers quit their original positions and left rural to be workers in factories during the Industrial Revolution in the 18th century, which directly created prosperity in Great Britain for the next 200 years. Moreover, this transformation of social structure would influence politics and institutions, promoting social advancements consequently. When more population work as workers and employees in cities, instead of being farmers, the social consensus would be reformed. As a result, people would assemble strong individual and property rights awareness, due to the urban lifestyle and education, which is advantageous to the development of democracy. For instance, how the formation of trade unions affected politics. On the other hand, urbanization may carry much potential crisis, especially for traditional agriculture and husbandry in rural areas. It is conceivable that young generations from the countryside prefer to move to the metropolis, these traditional fields would face a shortage of labour force, furthermore, threatening the supply of food. Whereas, too many people flocking to cities would cause a series of issues either, such as environmental damage, excessive competition, and wealth gap, threatening the urban life quality. In conclusion, urbanization is neutral from my perspective. Even though it has brought many benefits to our society, the problems we have are still grim.