Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst they may be dangerous. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Alternative medicine is not new. It is accepted that it pre-dates conventional medicine and is still being used by many people all over the world. Some people believe that these medical practices are not safe and can cause severe damage. I am unconvinced that it is dangerous and feel that both unconventional and conventional medicine can be useful. First of all, many physical therapies work by increasing people ’s ability to tolerate stress. For example, scientific evidence suggests that yoga provide benefit by acting on stress reactivity. In addition, far from being dangerous they often have no side effects, so the worst outcome would be no change. One of the strongest arguments for the effectiveness of these practices in the west is that, whilst conventional medicines are available at no cost, many people are prepared to pay considerable sums for alternatives. If they were totally unhelpful, it would be surprising if this continued. On the other hand, there are several reasons why the conventional medical community is often dismissive of alternatives. To begin with, compared to the huge amount of data on standard medications, there has been little research on alternatives. Furthermore, people often try such treatment because of the recommendations from their friends, and therefore come to the therapist with a positive attitude, which may be part of the reason for the cure. Moreover, these methods are usually only helpful for long-term, chronic conditions. Acute medical problems, such as accidental injury, often required conventional methods. In conclusion, although it is a common thought that alternative methods are harmful and unsafe. I strongly believe that conventional medicine and alternative therapies should co-exist. They have different strengths and can be used together effectively to target a particular medical condition. Personally, I think the best situation would be for alternative therapies to be used to support and complement conventional methods.