In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There is no doubt that more and more people, namely youngsters, have their preference in moving out and accommodating a one-person household in several countries so far. Whilst this trend is claimed to have negative effects, other people reckon that living alone benefits them in a variety of aspects. This essay will compare both sides of the issue on equal measure. On the one hand, it is undeniable that the prime factor associated with privacy is what leads to the dramatic rise of modern-day dwellers preferring to live alone despite the fact that this decision is cumbersome. To be more specific, every single individual has always longed to have their own space where they are free to do whatever they desire without being under their beloved people’s supervision, which a one-person bedsit can fulfil. Moreover, living alone can have beneficial effects on teenagers from different perspectives. First of all, they are likely to obtain life skills, such as preparing meals or managing their budget efficiently, which they have never had an opportunity to have a go when sharing the same living space with their family. In this sense, the day when the immature come into life with an air of more self-reliance, independence, and maturity is only one step away. On the other hand, the situation can constitute the opposite angle since it is likely for them to encounter isolation, loneliness, and anxiety when staying far away from their family. Another way of saying is that the excitement of owning a private place for themselves will surely vanish in a puff of smoke after a few first days and be replaced with irritation when most of them find themselves struggling to cope with a new living environment where they have to stand on their foot and be unable to receive any assistance from others, especially during the period of sickness. Secondly, from the financial point of view, hardly anyone succeeds in overcoming the burden of paying monthly bills and daily spending whereas the ones who fail in bearing the pressure, of course, result in having depression. In conclusion, every coin has two sides, which means the trend of getting their own accommodation, both through renting or purchasing, obtains advantages and detrimental effects.