In some countries, older people are choosing to live in retirement communities with other older people rather than living with their adult children. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is not uncommon that many old people today are choosing to live in retirement communities. In this essay, I intend to discuss the main reasons, and I believe that it is a negative development. On the other hand, people can benefit significantly if they choose to live in retirement centres. The main reason for this view is that retirement community is a place where residents can be able to access to various infrastructures and facilities such as restaurants, swimming pool and multi-functional rooms. Compare to living at home, they are more likely to have a high-standard living and enjoy a better life. Another reason for this view is that as registered nurses and support workers available in retirement centres are usually high-quality, professional and well-trained, older people as vulnerable group are more likely to receive prompt care and treatment when they get sick, especially during emergent situations. On the other hand, I tend to believe the problems of older people going to retirement centres cannot be ignored. Firstly, elderly people living in retirement communities will have less opportunities to face-to-face communicate with their families, which will increase generation gap and weaken family bonds and as a result, it will cause family alienation. Secondly, older people will be more likely to have extra expenditure and experience financial burden if they choose to live in retirement centres, which is particularly the case among low-saving individuals. Finally, it is no doubt to say that seniors living who live alone might battle loneliness and feel isolated. Not only does this impart quality of life, it is proven to have a negative impart health such as obesity, depression and heart disease. In conclusion, I reaffirm my position that it is a negative development.