some people tink that it is more imporant to spend money on roads and motoways than on public transport systems such as railway and trams. to what extent do you agree or disagree

There are those who opine that it is more crucial if the government allocates financial resources tothe construction of roadways instead of transport systems for railways and the tram network. Personally, I am totally against this idea because comprehensive public transport systems can bring convenience to more people and help protect the environment. The primary reason supporting my stance is that well-built and maintained public transport systems make commuters’ lives easier. Employees do not have to go to work by car, especially those who work in the city centre, where finding a parking space is time-consuming and at the same time, it is costly to park; instead, they can take a nap and finish some work on the train or bus. Apart from that, people can avoid traffic jams during peak hours because bus lanes are already available, and trains always run smoothly as scheduled. Another point I consider relevant is that financing public transport can contribute more to environmental protection. Automobiles are powered by fossil fuels, emitting large quantities of toxic gases to pollute the air. If people actively choose public transport due to its great convenience and high efficiency they can enjoy, they will be less likely to drive cars. Such green travel will considerably alleviate air pollution, making a city more liveable. In conclusion, I strongly disagree that it is more reasonable to invest money in building roads and freeways rather than public transport facilities. Funding public transport systems can, for one thing, make individuals’ everyday life more convenient, and, for another, conserve the environment. Therefore, it is suggested that the authorities prioritise developing public transport systems.