Some people argue that there is no point in preserving old buildings when land is so valuable in our cities. Others believe that old buildings are an important part of our heritage and should be preserved. Discuss both these views and state your opinion.

It is common that in modern society people face increasing house prices, which is because of urbanization across the world. More and more people choosing to live in cities also circulate this situation. As a result, there are some different views about no point in preserving old buildings opposed as to the fact that they are still valuable in cities. In my opinion, I think we should protect them instead of demolishing them. The reasons behind the increasing house prices are complex. On the one hand, more population is moving into municipalities, which increases housing demand. More buildings are needed, but good locations are occupied by the old and cracked housing. The estate companies are trying to replace the old ones with their new products to make more profits. On the other hand, houses are more like a product to many people instead of accommodation. Riches have always been able to buy more as a financial project, which makes it harder for others to afford it. So instead of replacing old buildings with new apartments, the more important thing the government should do is to limit this kind of behaviour. Not only that but there are also some other reasons why we should not demolish old buildings. First, they represent a cultural symbol, and always remind the local crowds of their culture and special personalities. For example, the towns close to mountains have different outside from the ones near the seas. Second, people have unique emotions against the old constructs in their towns; these landscapes represent special memories. Finally, the old constructs also have important historical meanings, which can be our life textbooks. We can renew them instead of deconstructing them. To sum up, I think it is not worth demolishing the old constructions for accommodation. They are more valuable than just a house