Today, people have become accustomed to living in “throwaway” society which means that they use things for a short time and then throw away. What are the causes of this? What problems may this lead to?

Throughout some time, it appears that people got used to the disposable use of items. Which apparently can lead to horrendous consequences for humankind. This essay will estimate the possible outcome of the issue, as well as underline what the causes are. Overconsumption nowadays is becoming a current issue. One illustration of this would be the production of low-quality clothes which on one side are affordable, however, it might be used only for one season. Therefore, it requires purchasing the same piece of clothing several times, which is later thrown in a rubbish bin. On top of that, the type of textile that is usually used in the production of mass-market items is synthetic, which usually can not or takes decades to be decomposed, so it creates contamination. Moreover, environmental pollution is a key to climate change and global warming. A similar issue appears with plastic packaging. The magnitude of its consumption is destructive, thus, people until now continue purchasing these items widely. For instance, instead of having a glass bottle, that can be refilled, people tend to choose to buy new plastic bottles of water every time. All of this leads not only to pollution but also to animal death. For example, in the ocean fish often consider plastic as food, that obviously can not be digested, so eventually it kills them. Nowadays wood-based things are in everyday use, however often it is used with complete disregard for the environment and plants, that are being destroyed for it. Evidence for this can be seen in the consumption of paper, which is often used for unessential things and later thrown away. In the meantime, deforestation becoming a huge problem. Forests, which are a natural habitat for a wide range of animals are being destroyed constantly, which leads to species extinction. In conclusion, society should be more aware of the consequences of a "throwaway" type of lifestyle, as it is an issue, that can destroy an entire planet. There are plenty of things every person can do to avoid that. The fundamental one would be the shortening of consumption in general and switching to non-disposable items.