The restoration of old buildings in major cities around the world costs enormous amounts of money. This money would be better spent on providing new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is irrefutable that developing and maintaining infrastructure in any city require funds. It is often argued that whether this fund should be directed towards revamping the historic architecture, or used towards the future infrastructure and housing projects. I tend to agree with the latter argument, and would provide supporting points in the following essay. To begin with, population is growing in all the major towns around the planet, which is resulting in overcrowding and high cost of living; the primary reason for this is lack of houses in the core of the city. To exemplify further, Toronto is going through a housing crisis just because the municipality is not giving up on the old infrastructure around the downtown area, making it difficult for the developers to build more buildings to accomodate the rising population in the region. Therefore, resulting in inflation and housing shortage throughout the city. Additionally, public transport is beneficial for the growth of a city; putting money in infrastructure projects make it future proof for the coming generation to travel around the town. To illustrate this, Toronto has a subway system which was built nearly 80 years beack but still supports as the main backbone for the region. Hence, future ready projects like these are the once that insure the growth of a town in the coming years. To put it in a nutshell, as population increases the demand for housing and public transport will also increase. In my view, the government should keep investing in these two projects before putting any amount in maintaining old infrastructures.