In many parts of world there is continuos coverage of sport on television. Some people believe this discourages the young from taking part in any sport themselves. Discuss the view and give your own opinion.

Sports are getting more popular nowadays. Most countries have provided sports channels on television in order to promote people to exercise. Some individuals believe that youngsters are not suitable for participating in sports events, while others think that they should take part in it. In my opinion, I fully support that youngsters should engage in sport and in the following paragraphs, I will discuss both judgements.  On one hand, sports injuries do occur accidentally or purposely during the event, and this will definitely affect their future and may have sequela, if the injury is severe and require surgery. For instance, according to the research, ACL ruptures are the most frequent and common dilemma, thus it often requires surgery and a certain period of rehabilitation which not only affect their quality of life, but also costs an amount to handle. Hence, parents discourage their children to participate due to the possibility of getting hurt. On the other hand, taking part in sports event provide better physical and mental health. Athletes are required to train their strength to improve their performance, as it also boosts their immune system. To illustrate this, scientific journals proved that people who have exercise habits tend to live longer and lower opportunities to be affected by sickness. Besides, stress can be eased by exercising which reduces negative emotions and increase self-confidence. So, sports are suggested for youngsters as it provides them with stronger stamina and more optimistic thinking. To sum up, although sports may bring harm to the young and affect their future, meanwhile it helps them to build up their strength and prevent them from getting sick. I wholeheartedly believe, teenagers should carry on their attendance in sports, and television should continuously promote it as well.