Many people aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

A growing number of people seek the improvement of their living standards. However, due to economic advancement, people face the loss of something socially important. Although in my opinion, the downside of economic development greatly outweighs its upside because people can spend little time with their families. On the one hand, financial success may bring about a happy life. This is because people normally feel delighted when they can obtain something in the exchange for money. For instance, many people enjoy shopping, which enables people to not only relieve stress but also make them delighted. However, I disagree with this opinion as money can bring only temporary happiness, therefore it can enhance living standards for a certain period. On the other hand, economic development does not always improve living standards in terms of time. This is because, in order to receive a high salary, hard work cannot be dodged, and people find it difficult to juggle between family and occupation. Consequently, they can spend little time with their loved ones. Thus, without spending hours with their family, it is impossible for people to live happily. To illustrate, Japan has a higher rate of suicide, even though citizens have developed their living standards. I completely agree with this view because a person cannot lead a happy life without sharing priceless time with their family. To conclude, even though economic advancement can contribute to improving people's living standards because it enables people to spend fortunes on shopping, I believe that the drawback of this greatly overwhelms its positive because people cannot improve their quality of life without spending hours with their loved ones.