Libraries should focus on improving their technological resources rather than in building a large collection of paper books. To what extent do you agree?

The world is fast advancing technologically, resulting in more individuals and organizations operating with digital and electronic resources. Many believe that Libraries should not be left and should improve their services and centres by using more e- books rather than paper books. I absolutely agree with this notion because the use of hard-copy books is uneconomical and not enjoyable for the younger generation. Firstly, just like many institutions, Libraries should work towards possibly scrapping the use of hard-copy books entirely because acquiring and maintaining books can be financially draining. Money can be saved up, space can be saved up as well. Additionally, youths are attracted to gadgets and consider it a hassle to ruffle through several pages of books looking for information when they can just search for it on the web. In other words, having books stacked and piled up is no longer in vogue as many institutions now utilize information and data which has been stored electronically. If Libraries improve and deviate more towards using e- books, then utilizing library facilities will be more intriguing and interesting for students. For example, these days paper books which can fill up an entire room can be contained in a single iPad or computer. Would a student prefer rummaging through all in search of useful information to assessing them on a computer? Hence Libraries, in order to make assessing their facilities enjoyable for young ones need to drift more towards digitalization. In conclusion, Libraries which have already been tagged as awfully boring can be resuscitated by converting paper books to e- books to ensure they are up to date and to attract the younger generation.