It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether young students should learn the history of their own country or that of other societies in the world has always been a topic of debate. While it is believed that learning the former is of greater importance, I disagree with this perspective. Some people are pro the idea of children learning national history, and justifiably so. The key rationale in favour of this idea is that being aware of their roots can instil a sense of patriotism in each child. This may foster an appreciation for the national heritage, which means that they are more willing to defend and contribute to their country. By contrast, those who lack knowledge about national history may not respect their traditions. Vietnam perfectly exemplifies this situation. As history education in most schools is sadly lacking, many children have grown up with a superficial understanding of their ancestors' past achievements and sacrifices, hence their indifference to national current affairs. This is a testament to the necessity of teaching schoolchildren local history. However, I am convinced that it is far more beneficial for students to learn national history in parallel with world history. This is because acquiring insights into events that took place in other parts of the world can also give students a more holistic perspective of what happened in their localities. On the other hand, learning exclusively national history could cause an individual to be biased and harbour hostile feelings about foreign people. For instance, in Vietnam, history education mostly features how Vietnamese fought against foreign armies such as France and America, misleading many students into thinking that people from these countries are evil. This outlook may be more impartial if they thoroughly understand past wars in an international context. In conclusion. while there are some justifications for considering local history more important than world history, I would contend that schoolchildren will derive the most benefit from learning both.