food can be produced much more cheaply today because of improved fertilizer and better machinery.Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this and give your opinion.

It is true that nowadays, people are enjoying cheaper prices of food because of advanced technologies such as fertilizer, facilities and high-output seeds. Despite its obvious advantages, I have to claim that some disadvantages simultaneously exist and need to be emphasized. In this essay, I will detailedly discuss both of them. On the one hand, cheaper food improves the life quality of the poor and solves the issue of hunger in some areas and nations. The solutions to high-quality as well as high-output food are the most popular topic among all food scientists. For this, they resort to designing a series of machinery and chemical materials, which promotes the competitiveness of seeds, their growing environments and production efficiency. These strategies absolutely enhance the output of food and reduce their prices, causing a positive situation that the poor people can enjoy more nutrition and food and thus escape from hunger. On the other hand, the employment of high-technique products such as fertilizer and gene modification contains several risks to some degree, where the most impressive issue is food security. Due to the prevalence of gene modification, the gene of some common foods such as rice, tomato, and so on have been changed, leading to great advantages in output. However, there is an increasing tendency that people complain about the degradation of food taste. Beef, pork and vegetables lost their delicious taste which they used to have. Meanwhile, the implicitly negative impacts of fertilizer and gene modification are unclear. As some literature reported, this modified food might influence human health and incur more heart and blood sick. Therefore, the deployment of novel technology and chemical substance should be strictly verified. In conclusion, improved fertilizer and better machinery reduce the price of the majority of food, mitigating the issue of hunger. However, the utilization of these techniques should be careful because people have not totally understood the underlying risks.