In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a tradition in some countries that students are appealed to work or travel for a long time after accomplishing high school in order for accumulating social experience and expanding their horizons. Personally, I completely agree with this idea because its advantages obviously outweigh the disadvantages. First of all, we have to recognize that this special experience is valuable and encourages students to understand the meaning of living and clarify their aims, which is beneficial for them to start their college life. In these countries, students are allowed to find what they prefer and whom they want to be during a period of travelling and working. These activities provide some opportunities and the young people are able to study social skills and knowledge which is hard to learn on campus. Taking travelling as an example, teenagers can communicate with some travellers and realize different ideas and considerations, which enriches their thoughts. Besides, if young people choose a job before entering university, they can earn an amount of money which can be used to pay for their educational expenses and thus reduce the family's pressure on finance. Of course, there are also some drawbacks underlying this tradition. The primary issue is that students would spend one year or more tackling unfamiliar things, which might enhance their pressure on both physical and mental aspects. In a working position, they are required to accurately and effectively finish assigned tasks. However, this requirement is relatively difficult for teenagers who have less working experience and skills. If they are under high pressure for a long time, it is not beneficial to their growth. In conclusion, young people benefit from the experience of working or travelling when they choose to do this after they graduate from high school. Although some issues exist, they still learn more important skills and knowledge.