In many countries women no longer feel the need to get married. Some people believe that this is because women are able to earn their own income and therefore do not require the financial security that marriage can bring. To what extent do you agree?

It is sometimes argued that women don’t get married nowadays as they can earn enough money and no longer need economic stability by marrying someone. In my opinion, I disagree with the statement because I believe that some other reasons are contributing to the situation. Firstly, getting married generate lots of domestic duties and expenses, such as childcare, which cause an enormous burden. To avoid increasing costs of living, women would choose to remain single for life. Additionally, particularly in the inflationary spike of society, females would not afford the costs of living even if they were allowed to earn their income. As a result, not getting married doesn’t mean women think they can support themselves. Another point to consider is that women might have an aspiration that would be obstructed by marriage; in other words, they don’t get married as they desire to achieve something more essential in life. In the modern, a woman is likely to be more ambitious than a man. If females get married and become a mother, they need to take responsibility for their families and kids. In addition to that, they might not have time to focus on their goals, all of which may become obstacles in their career path. In conclusion, I believe that women made a conscious decision not to get married not owing to the financial security or no dependency on men for money but because they yearn for freedom, to ease the financial burden, or seek the accomplishment of career goals.