PEOPLE NOWADAYS WORK HARD TO BUY MORE AND MORE THINGS. THIS HAS MADE OUR LIFE GENERALLY MORE COMFORTABLE BUT IT IS A PITY MANY TRADITIONAL VALUES HAVE BEEN LOST ON THE WAY TO SUCH MATERIALISM. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE WITH THE STATEMENT?

It is the biggest truth of our times that life has become materialistic as men and women crave to buy more and more things. In this state of mind, they consciously or unconsciously make their life surface and gradually get disconnected from their culture and traditions.  There are a number of reasons behind this. Firstly, material possessions are tied to self-worth. People believe if they do not have the latest gadgets or clothes of the newest fashion in town they just do not have an identity. They believe that they shall not be accepted in the social circle and shall get no respect from peers. This craving may lead to the adoption of unethical modes to earn money to fulfil their ever-increasing desires. Consequently, values are compromised and this is the first blow to the inherited traditions. In addition to this, culture and traditions are rooted in a social framework to maintain the relationships which are of great importance. But in today's life where each one wishes to assert their individuality and superiority with their buying power, there is little place for respect and tolerance. Thus, as social structures collapse, the culture is lost as well. However, not all the crowd who work hard and buy things to make their growth comfortable lose their culture. There are so many successful people who maintain a fine balance between all aspects of their life Finally, I opine that the desire of having more things inevitably leads the community to compromise with their cultural ethics and principles. It takes a lot of personal courage and conviction to save oneself from such an outcome and lead a balanced life.