Some people think that government is wasting money on arts and that money could better spent else where to what extent do you agree or disagree?

The issue of how governments should invest the money citizens pay by taxes is a question of increasing interest in the nowadays public sphere. However, whether in healthcare services, education, infrastructure, or in cultural development such as art access, the public resources investment needs to be addressed by governments according to context and the social demands as I will explain below. Although arts are not commonly associated with creating wealth for countries, which is one of the main preoccupations for those against wasting money on it, art ’s value in the emotional regulation of societies has been demonstrated by multiple studies on human behaviour. Access to cultural experiences such as theatre shows, dancing or painting classes, for instance, can improve individuals' mental health and reduce stress levels by up to 60% according to recent research conducted in Europe. Now, having mentioned the benefits for the population that art can give, it is fundamental to mention that when it comes to public resources management priority should be given to attend to what is immediately needed and there are some situations when arts are not an essential good to countries. For example, when countries are experiencing difficult times such as natural disasters, war, hunger, and so on. In those specific cases, and also when developing countries have in their agenda priority investments such as creating health care centres or better basic services, access to art becomes a secondary investment. In conclusion, cultural development and access to art can be considered a social service that should be covered as mental healthcare basics provided by the government. Nevertheless, balance and context awareness is key to public resources management, which means there are specific country's situations that would not permit governments big investments in that topic because their attention must be paid to covering the basic needs.