Many people think that the most important things in life are free (i.e. they cannot be bought). Do you agree or disagree?

Due to its valuable and irretrievable properties, people always show a great desire for freedom and consider it the most significant thing in the world. In my opinion, I completely agree with this consideration because freedom is unreplaceable and drives people to high achievements from both social and individual aspects. On the one hand, from the social perspective, the previous progress in our society always benefits from people's desire for freedom. Take America as an example, in the 16th century, native Indians, black people and some poor European aimed to escape from being slaves and they wanted to earn their freedom from farmers and armies, directly leading to the born of the country America. The same things also arose in previous China and the United Kingdom. Therefore, being free seems to be an internal characteristic of human beings. For this, some generations worked and eventually encouraged the progress of society and improved the level of civilization. On the other hand, from the individual aspect, people always enrich themselves traits at both physical and mental levels under a period of seeking freedom. In another word, people tend to try their best to be free and during this period, they are more likely to improve their knowledge and living skills in order to catch this valuable feature. As a consequence, they are able to stand out from the masses of other competitors. Besides, freedom gives different people such as the old, the young and the ill equal opportunities to find the truth of life and catch their dreams. They can apply for desirable jobs, research difficult scientific topics, and work for communities. In summary, freedom exhibits great value for both society and individuals, highlighting its possibility of being the most important thing in life.