The government is responsible for protecting a nation’s cultural identity. Some people think it is the government’s duty to ensure that new buildings are built in a traditional style. To what extent do you agree?

Cultural identity of a place is an important factor in concept of place making. It describes the values, meaning and common conception that general public have about a specific place. Since ancient history, the buildng technlogy has improved day by day. I beleive as a nation people should protect their unique cultural identies because the tradions and values need to be protected for their future generations. Furthermore, some individuals beleive that the government regulating bodies should make laws to build new buildings in a tradional style. As we examine the history we can identify different styles of buildings in different eras. Therefore, I do not agree with the statement because as a new generation we need to showcase our technological advancement to the future generations. Moreover, there are lots of new technologies available in the world to enhance the quality and safety of the building. So we need to develop our buildings to resist the morden day natural disasters. However, there are some protected areas for it's heritage value. In such areas government should enforce the law to protect the quality of the place. Every building needs to be designed to respond to it's macro and micro environement. Furthermore, qualified buiding designers should consider the value of the place when they design a building.