In some parts of the world, students are required to pass an entrance exam in order to be able to enter university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of passing an entrance exam?

In some countries, students need to take an entrance university exam to be accepted into a university. There are both benefits and drawbacks to addressing this issue. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages. There are some advantages to considering passing the entrance university test. Firstly, the entrance exam makes students more competitive because they need to try their best and make plans for that. In Iran, for example, students compete intensely to get accepted into top-ranked universities or some majors like dentistry and medicine. They have to compete with more than 500 thousand university volunteers in a test called Konkoor. Secondly, students have another chance to be accepted into universities. They can take the exam many times if they are not accepted into their desired major or university. Nevertheless, the entrance university exam has several disadvantages. Examining this way is likely stressful for some students having anxious characters. They fear failing the exam or not being accepted. Their families generally put pressure on them to study hard for the exam. Another argument regards to this would be that the entrance exam cannot demonstrate a student’s all abilities. It could be better if students were investigated for their long-term background. The thing is that there may be some students who were either studious or talented in the past few years of their education, but they cannot show their abilities in one frame of the exam. For instance, imagine a student who always got full marks in his exams, but in the last year of school, he got ill and, therefore could not revise for the exam well. In conclusion, some countries have entrance university exam which has both benefits and drawbacks. The benefits of this issue could be being competitive and having different chances to be accepted. Disadvantages of this exam could, in contrast, be owing to being stressful and not suitable for assessing students ’ qualifications.