Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is undeniable that in recent years advertising has been playing a crucial role in everyone's life. However, is that role beneficial for consumers? Although some people believe it is, I strongly argue that it is not. On the one hand, it is said that advertisement helps people to make the right choice. Different companies, which are trying to promote their products, offer good deals through different forms of channels such as TV, and social media. Which gives consumers the opportunity to compare prices and pick the real bargain. Moreover, supporters of the importance of advertisement argue that if companies want to make more profit, they have to offer better quality products at an affordable price which is in the public favour. Take Costco for example, they offer the cheapest produce compared to other superstores which advance their revenue. On the other hand, I wholeheartedly believe that advertising entices individuals to buy unnecessary items. As they make people believe that they need to buy the latest gadget to enhance their image. For instance, a vast number of people buy the latest Iphone whenever it is available despite merely having new features. Another important point is, fast food companies, and food manufacturers take advantage of citizens' children by placing kids' favourite cartoon characters in advertising to promote food products that contain saturated fats and sugar to them. Then children pester their parents to buy unhealthy food which causes obesity, and health problems. To sum up, although there are some advantages to advertising like comparing products, and people can benefit from cheaper prices, there is a number of drawbacks. Therefore, on balance, I believe that there must be restrictions on advertising especially that promotes unhealthy products