Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Today it becomes easier to get any kind of information from various sources. While some people argue that it is best to keep it private, I side with those who feel that publicly sharing it can bring so much benefit to society. On the one hand, gatekeeping knowledge has some positive sides. First, if the information is delivered to only specific communities that have a direct interest in the topic, the credibility of the information still can be kept authentically. As we know, current technology allows people to create fake stories that are not always purely based on fact. Therefore, limiting sharing it to certain people can minimize the possibility of spreading the hoax. This is highly vital, especially for the type of information that needs to be proved scientifically and should be explained further by related professionals. Second, it can help the creators to get the material benefit from the copyrights. To illustrate, many researchers who write a journal is depended on people who pay to access it. Limiting to only people who need it, can prevent their creation to be pirated in the near future. On the other hand, giving accessible knowledge can have a great impact on people out there. For stater, it can liberate the spread of many lesson materials that perhaps people do not get in formal education. Allowing various types of people to access it freely can help them to perceive it easily, which later can be beneficial to enhance their living quality. Furthermore, this idea can bring educational opportunities to be more equal in the next few decades. Next, it can flourish many new innovations that can be greatly beneficial to solve problems in societies. To achieve this, innovators need to collaborate with many disciplines. Therefore, accessing it without hassle can ease the process of producing solutions quickly. In conclusion, while limiting certain information to be accessed freely can prevent society to receive hoax information, accessible knowledge may also flourish many innovations to help people out there. Therefore, on balance, I remain firm that accessible knowledge without boundaries that can reach a wide audience is important in so many aspects.