Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do?

Today, this world is facing many environmental issues due to the damage done by humans to the environment. This problem is getting serious and humans as individuals and at the government level should take the necessary steps to reduce this destruction. This essay will discuss the environmental problems and measures that governments and individuals can take to address these issues. Two of the biggest threats to the environment are air pollution and waste. Gas emissions from factories and air fumes from vehicles lead to global warming, which may have devastating effects on the planet in future. As the human population increases, we are producing ever greater quantities of waste, which is contaminating the earth and polluting oceans and rivers. Governments could certainly make efforts to reduce air pollution. They can impose laws to limit carbon emissions from factories or force factories to use renewable energy from solar, wind or water power.They could also impose taxes on drivers and airline companies. In this way, people will be encouraged to use public transport and will take fewer flights abroad, therefore reducing emissions. Humans on an individual level could also take necessary steps which will help reduce pollution from earth. While shopping instead of using plastic bags they can use reusable bags. They can use public transport instead of travelling in personal vehicles. They should focus on using recycled products. By reusing and recycling they can help reduce waste. To conclude, environmental problems are the biggest threat to humankind. Not only people on an individual level but governments should take the necessary steps to reduce pollution which will make this world a livable place.