Some people believe that it is better to live and work in a vertical city with multiple tall buildings, as compared to a horizontal city with fewer tall buildings. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is a bitter truth that with industrialization and the resultant progress of the human race, the flora and fauna of the planet have been adversely influenced. This has risen debate where some are quite pessimistic and believe that it is better to live in skyscrapers; whereas a few others deny this and say that city with more townhouse and fewer apartments are better. Both the views and my opinion are discussed further. Considering the former view, many people think pessimistically mainly because nature is preserved. That is, fewer trees are cut in order to build new houses which helps in preventing deforestation and soil erosion. Also, the animals and plant won't lose their natural habitat. Furthermore, individuals need to travel less which leads to less pollution. Additionally, human population has increased rapidly in last century. It is impossible to have seperate a house for each individual otherwise there will be no space left for animal and plants. On the contrary, discussing the views of those who believe living in townhouse than apartments, the most vital issue is the quality of life is decreased and privacy of an individual is compromised. For example, a person need a private gym and swimming which is not possible in apartments. Moreover, parking issue is the another reason why an individual prefer living in a townhouse. For instance, a family living in two bedroom apartment can only get two parking slot, while the family have three vehicles. To give my opinion and to conclude, I would certainly voice that it is better to leave in a tall building and preserve the environment. This can be done by developing cities with more skyscrapers, which I believe lot of countries, government and people have begun to do.