In the future, there will be a higher proportion of older people than younger people. Is it a positive or negative development?

It’s a negative development. In my opinion, a higher ratio of elder people than youngsters could cause global development to be collapsed. If a country or city is facing older population overwhelming young people. It could cause serious economic problems. I am going to explain the drawbacks in the essay. Firstly, the higher ratio of elder communities in a city could result in a lack of income but a substantial amount of expenditure. For example, as a city have a large population of older people and a small young community, most young people prefer to travel to another city for their future. At that time, the government needs to support the older people with pensions and supply medical institutions for healthcare and physical examination. Therefore, the government could expense a large amount of budget without any impossible income. Secondly, the population of young individuals are mostly represented the workforce of the city. The workforce could have a significant decrease as the young generation are move to other cities. In doing so, most elderly individuals are unable to work or be an employee. This could affect industrial commerce to be closed or have no benefit. Thus, the economy of the city could be ceased as there is no possible income for the city and it also needs to use the budget to support the older people. In conclusion, with the development of a higher proportion of elder communities than younger people, the whole society could be affected negatively as cities or countries have to expend an enormous amount of budget to assist the elder community with less income.