Governments should spend time on railways rather than roads.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, people use different modes of transport to move from one place to another. A lot of individuals use road transportation on a daily basis, and for this reason, I fully disagree with the notion that government should spend resources on railways instead of roads. The essay below will discuss this view at length. To begin with, developed countries mostly use trains when commuting, this is the total opposite in developing countries where buses and cars are used as the main transportation system. In both locations, road accidents are still higher than those on the railway. For instance, a study by Stan Fo in 2017 found that about 92 per cent of accidents happen on roads while only 4 per cent happen on railways and the remaining percentage in other areas. This is because most roads are not in good condition and need to be repaired. Therefore, this is a reason enough to disagree with the idea of paying attention to the railways as it has less accidents. Furthermore, in most African countries railway transport system does not exist, thus they mostly use road transport. For instance Zimbabwe, railway transport is not used because the trains and even the rail line lines need to be fixed and that would take decades because of the poor economic system in the country. It is therefore better to fix roads for the safety of people and forget about developing the track system since the current government has failed to do so in the past 40 years after attaining freedom. Thus, I fully disagree with the statement that the government must give time to develop rail line. To conclude, those in power must put more money and time into developing roads instead of rails because a lot of people use roads when commuting. Developing a railway system might take forever,especially in Africa. These and other issues are discussed above.