Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the rise in traffic accidents, nowadays, there is a debate about whether the minimum legal age for driving should be increased in order to improve road safety. In my viewpoint, it is a good practice, however, not the best one because there are other more effective approaches that should be introduced. To begin with, it is admitted that raising the minimum age of eligibility for driving can reduce the number of traffic accidents and therefore increase road safety. This is because younger drivers are immature and have little experience while possessing reckless driving manoeuvre at the same time. The older they get, the more mature, experienced and responsible they will be. Thus, this can potentially mitigate incidents and generate a safer environment for other traffic joiners. Nevertheless, this action is not optimal since there are two other measures that are more effective and can bring a better outcome. The first one is the introduction of more severe punishments: drivers who violate the traffic rules, for example drinking alcohol while driving or exceeding the speed limit, should be fined more heavily or have their license revoked. In addition, before their driver’s licenses are returned to them, there should be a test to ensure that they will not make the same mistakes in the future. The second measure to increase road safety is a re-test for senior drivers. The test aims to make sure that they are fit to drive regarding their health condition despite their long-time experience. As a result, these two actions potentially encourage people’s awareness of a safer driving environment. In conclusion, I believe that raising the minimum legal driving age can improve road safety, however, more severe punishments or retesting for senior vehicle users can be more suitable and effective. Because not all accidents are caused by underaged ones.