Some people believe that the best way to produce a happier society is to ensure that there only small differences between the richest and the poorest members. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I barely agree. In my opinion, increasing the income of poor people could be a method to create a better world, but not the best way because this method could bring both positive and negative effects to society. I am going to write about both the merits and the drawbacks in this essay. Letting poor residents become rich could be beneficial for the country. As poor individuals have a similar salary to rich people, they are able to have a better-quality life. For example, people having poor financial conditions are able to buy a bigger house to live in, afford their utilities or even have good healthcare. Besides, families having worse economic conditions could support their children to access better education. However, narrowing the gap between the rich and the poor communities could also result in some side effects. For instance, if an authority subsidizes poor people with a good amount of money, it would lead to a big economic issue - inflation. It will influence all people in the whole region, no matter the rich or the poor. Besides, it will damage the economy of other nations as well. In addition, government funding may cause recipients not to like to work again rather than enjoy their life, as it is human nature. In conclusion, I believe making everyone have similar income only has a limited effect on a happier society. The negative result in the nation would overwhelm the positive influence on the poor public, so the government need to implement other policies to produce a more satisfied community.