Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems. Some people say they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, plastic bags are making serious problems for the environment. There are certain problems like polluting soil and threatening marine life which can be curbed with some solutions such as the use of paper and cotton bags instead of plastic bags. I agree with this view as it is a prevailing serious issue of the present day. Plastic bags makes many troubles in the natural world. One of the prime environmental problems is soil pollution. By this I mean, plastic bags are not degradable and this pollutes the soil. Plastic bags are always littered on the soil and some of them could not be used for recycling. Apart from this, burning plastic bags expels toxic fumes into the atmosphere, which may lead to global warming and climate change. To cite an example, many people are suffering respiratory problems due to the burning of plastic in India last year. In order to curb this issue, plastic bags have to be replaced with cotton or paper bags as biodegradable products. Many nations have started to use paper bags and cotton bags instead of plastic bags to control environmental issues. Another pertinent problem that needs to be considered is threatening to marine life because of plastic bags. To elucidate, many of the plastic bags are reached oceans and marine mammals consume this may lead to even death of that species. Moreover, some small fishes and mammals are trapped in plastic bags and end up dying. To cite an example, about 20 per cent of marine species died due to plastic bags in oceans last year throughout the world. In light of this issue, many plastic manufacturers are collecting plastic from oceans to manufacture frames for the optical industry. In conclusion, It is stated that plastic bags are harmful to nature and leads to soil pollution and endanger marine life. I think that paper and cotton bags could eliminate environmental issues from plastic bags.