In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Information is of vital importance in our increasingly competitive society. However, some argue that printed materials will disappear in due course because people can have free access to any kind of information on the Internet. From my perspective, I only partially agree with this viewpoint. The internet will have a profound impact on people's reading habits. To begin with, it is more effective and efficient to convey messages online. In other words, the information era enables individuals to broadcast news or opinions in unprecedented manners. For instance, if an accident occurs in your community, you can easily keep your friends informed by posting a few lines on social media platforms. In addition, apps such as Z-library or kindle books facilitate the spread of free e- books, hence allowing those children from poor families to have some spiritual enjoyment. On the other hand, printed media can hardly be replaced. Firstly, by comparison, there is no denying that many teenagers are excessively dependent on electronic screens and the internet, which can sometimes lead to bad eyesight and addictive behaviours. Besides, printed books with a price tag can protect the intellectual property rights of the writers, which in turn would encourage them to be more creative and productive. Take the Harry Potter books for example. Without having sold thousands of copies, the writer would still have been living in poverty and struggling to make ends meet, not to mention creating more popular books. To conclude, In my view, even though e- books and online information will keep prevailing in the future, printed media will not be wiped out because reading represents a healthy lifestyle and a price can protect the author's intelligence and hard work.