In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

In many nations around the world, declining health and a lack of fitness are becoming very common among people. There are a number of reasons for this situation, but certain measures could be taken to alleviate these problems. There are several factors at play pertaining to the rise of this situation, the most important of which is that technological advancements have resulted in a sedentary lifestyle. Because of the prevalent use of computers and vehicles, it is no longer necessary to move around much. This leads to people becoming overweight, which also adversely affects their health and fitness. A further contributing factor that should not be overlooked is the role played by the increased consumption of unhealthy processed snacks. For example, fast food, junk food and processed canned food have become extremely popular due to people's chronic busyness. Such food results in a lot of health problems if it is consumed in large quantities. In order to tackle the above, several courses of action could be taken. In the first place, the government could launch a nationwide campaign to raise public awareness about the importance of eating healthy and exercising regularly. For instance, advertisements by the Ministry of fitness about the dangers of eating junk meals and not exercising should be regularly shown on television and the internet. Not only could the position be addressed by adopting the above suggestion, but it could also be further eased if schools prohibit unhealthy food from being sold on their premises. If schools start to ban too much-fried food or food that is high in sugar and salt, students will be forced to eat a more balanced and healthy diet at school. The result is that health would improve dramatically. In conclusion, factors such as technological advancements and the increased consumption of unhealthy meals have led to this seemingly insurmountable situation, which in turn could be specifically addressed by launching a health and fitness campaign and implementing certain food regulations in schools. Given the current state of affairs, it is imperative that such measures be taken promptly in order to ensure that the position is not further exacerbated.