Many People believe that social networking websites (such as facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individual and society. To what extent do you agree?

A lot of individuals withhold a perspective that social networking websites (namely Facebook) have negatively affected the individual as well as society to a great extent. In my opinion, although, social media websites have negatively affected individuals and societies, however, it has also connected the world and provided a new and better market for individuals which leads towards a better economy. Firstly, undoubtedly social networking websites have had a negative effect on individuals and society, such as time wastage. Individuals can waste a lot of time on social networking websites because it is highly addictive due to the availability of a lot of unnecessary content on it. Wasting time on these platforms can lead towards a sedentary lifestyle and unproductiveness, causing deterioration of physical and mental health, namely obesity and depression. However, these social networking websites have a positive side to them as well, such as connecting the world. In today's,era an individual can easily connect, chat and have knowledge about their loved one's life by using them. They can make new friends as well who can be from around the world, hence increasing their overall knowledge and empathy for communities of diverse races, religions and nationalities. Finally, these social networking websites have created a new marketplace where the whole world can be a potential customer and less investment is needed. Not only it is a blessing for all the sellers, but also a door for individuals with less initial capital, as a physical shop with a lot of inventory is not required to start a business. Moreover in covid when unemployment was at its peak, these platforms helped people earn money and hence helped the economy grow. In conclusion, Although social networking websites have a huge negative effect on individuals and societies by wasting their precious time, however, it can be used to connect people around the world and create a much better marketplace which will help individuals and societies grow.