Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones in communication has negative effects on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

We live in an age when many of us are surrounded by the latest technological devices. It is opined by a segment of society that increasing communication via social media platforms has had a destructive impact on the demeanour of young individuals. My own view on the matter is that the balanced usage of mobiles has more benefits which I am keen to discuss in relevant paragraphs. To begin with, it is widely acknowledged that mobile phones and computers play a crucial role these days as technology has drastically progressed. Meanwhile, young people have a chance to chat with someone instantly. However, the way hiding behind a screen may affect the normal development of inexperienced children. One clear example is that according to a 2016 study in the UK, 49 per cent of British teenagers said they would prefer to send a text rather than speak to someone, even if they were in the same room. At the moment, it is easy to misunderstand their intention. So, it does not seem to be such a good idea to use WhatsApp, and Instagram as a way of communicating even though it is some of the most common social networking platforms for individuals in terms of reading and writing. Furthermore, over recent years, youngsters are inclined to appeal to some applications such as Grammarly providing them with correct grammar by using artificial intelligence. Therefore, they are ensured with both correct sentence structure and the right words. When it comes to reading, youngsters may have unrestricted access to the Internet in order to read books and articles. I guess it is the best way to hone not only their reading skills but also their cognitive skills. To conclude, as I mentioned above, although mobile phones and computers can have a number of demerits, it is advisable that young people possess access to the Internet and benefit from its endless gift so as to ameliorate themselves.